Buttermilk Biscuits


I love-making biscuits and trying out different recipes for biscuits.  My mom really likes her baking powder biscuits, but I like my buttermilk biscuits better.  These biscuits don’t take that much time and very few ingredients so it’s really nice to make.  I put all of the dry ingredients into a bowl and then add the butter and shortening and buttermilk.  Buttermilk is so easy to make if you don’t have some that’s store-bought. You put one cup of milk into a cup and then add a tablespoon of vinegar and stir.  How much easier can that get.  Anyways I add all of the stuff together and then instead of using a spoon because it’s so aggravating, I just take off my ring and begin to mush away with my hands, 1 because I like to feel it and 2 because it’s so nice to see it all come together under the guidance of my two beautiful hands (I really don’t have beautiful hands, I just say that so they won’t get offended and fall off 😉 )I then roll it out and use a cup to cut it into perfect circles.  At the end when I usually have left over dough I just roll it out and then cut it into squares so I don’t have to waste time making it a circle. I put it in the oven and then wait until they turn brown. They never look like the pictures, but they work I guess. Usually I have to bake them for a little while longer because they always turn out mushy in the middle and my mom just hates that.  Afterwards you can put jelly or peanut butter, or if you want to be real creative, you put both on and make a sandwich!! Someone should do that in real life and call it a PB&J.  They taste really great if you make them for biscuits and gravy. Oh so yummy, it just makes me want to make some right now.

Until next time, I hope you enjoy the food you eat,

God Bless

Tess Bissell

2 responses to “Buttermilk Biscuits

Leave a Reply

