Cinnamon Rolls


My dad loves cinnamon roll’s and our family friend usually makes them for him, but this time I wanted to try my hand out at making them. I’ve been going through this cookbook called The Pioneer Woman Cooks. I have loved every recipe that’s in there.  I started to make the cinnamon roll’s and took up almost all of my moms flour.  She usually doesn’t mind if I use anything that’s in the kitchen, but I don’t know if she’s seen the container for the flour yet :/ The recipe said to use whole milk but we had 1 % so I thought that was close enough. Right? Right!! I made the dough and had to wait an hour for that to rise, which was no fun.  I hate waiting for things to cook/bake/ or in this case, rise.  After that rose then I cut it in half and rolled it out, and then I got to do the fun part. Put butter and sugar and cinnamon on top of all of that.  The combination of those three just smell oh-so-good. Rubbing the butter onto the dough felt a little nasty, but only for a little while. I was going to brush it on, but that didn’t work so well for me. I rolled it long wise, and instead of cutting it with a knife my parents have always used dental floss to cut cinnamon rolls, so I just followed tradition. It works really well and you don’t have to worry about getting a knife dirty. Two birds killed with one stone eh?  I ended up making four pans, the recipe at the beginning said that it made 40-50 rolls. That’s quite a bit for only four people. I put the rolls in the oven and then started to make the icing.  The recipe was called  Maple Icing, but I didn’t want to dig through our cupboards to find maplet, or maple flavoring, so I just used vanilla instead. Who can tell the difference? I’m sure quite a few people, but I doubt they knew that it was supposed to be maple instead of vanilla. Lets keep that between me and you =D And it also called for 1/4 cup of coffee, but I didn’t think it was worth it to make just a fourth of a cup of joe to go into some icing. The rolls finally came out of the oven and I let them cool for a bit and then I got to do the best part. Pouring the icing over the warm, gooey, delicious looking cinnamon rolls. Then I ate a bite and the world just froze, but then un-froze when my sister called to me and said that she wanted one now.  So in the end I had plenty to spare and I gave some to my brother and his family and my sister and her family. They all seemed to enjoy them and I was happy that my cooking had come out nicely once again.

Until next time, I hope you enjoy the food you eat

God Bless

Tess Bissell

Leave a Reply

