Sugar Cookies


I’ve been having a girls day with my niece for about a year now.  It’s usually at a random time, whenever I’m free. She come’s over and we have a special drink and a special treat from the store down the street and then we get cozy and watch a movie.  I have such a blast with her, and we get to spend time with each other, so it works for both of us.  Well the other day we decided to have a half day girls time.  She came over and I curled her hair and then we made Sugar Cookies.  I really hate sugar cookies, but it was a recipe from my cookbook that I hadn’t tried yet so I decided to make them.  We got all of the stuff out and then began with the eggs. My mom always says to crack them into a cup first to see if they’re bad or not.  I decided not to do that this time. I cracked it into the big bowl we we’re going to use, and yup, you guessed it, the egg was bad.  I had to throw the egg down the disposal and then wash out the bowl.  I think my niece was a bit ticked off with me by then, she’s only five and she has me wrapped around her finger, so I really didn’t want to make her mad, but then I thought about it, “She’s five, who cares?” I didn’t say it aloud, but I sure thought it which is bad on my part.  Anyways, I cracked the other eggs into a cup and they were fine so I put them in the bowl and then added all of the dry ingredients.  It was sort of  hard to stir, she tried to stir but ended up getting the flour thrown in her face because she was sitting down.  It was a pretty funny sight, but for some reason she didn’t think so.  She told me after that that I could do the stirring.  So I took off my ring and started using my hands, her eyes lit up at seeing me use my hands and she asked excitedly if she could do it too.  It was so much fun doing that together, it was a small bowl and I don’t have small hands, that part was a little difficult, but we made them anyways.  We then put them in the fridge for an hour while we went and got our snacks at the store down the street. We ate our ice cream and took our good time, it was a nice day out so we wasted time, a lot of time.  We came back home and put the cookies onto the cookie sheet and flattened them down with a cup that had butter and sugar on it. How could it get better than that I thought? While we started to flatten them down my niece tried to flatten on near the edge, well the cookie sheet was on the edge as well, the cookies then started to fling toward her dress and face. She got a little freaked out about that and then told me I could flatten the rest while she went and watched her movie.  I laughed my head off and told her alright.  I flattened the rest and then stuck them in the oven.  They turned out pretty well.  Like I said to my friend, “They aren’t that good………as I scarf down the three from my plate.”

Until next time, I hope you enjoy the food you eat.

God Bless,

Tess Bissell

Leave a Reply

