Chicken Fried Steak & Cream Cheese Mashed Potatoes


I told my Mom on Tuesday that I wanted to try a new recipe from The Pioneer Woman Cooks cook book.  I asked my Dad which recipe I should try and gave him a few choices and he finally decided on Chicken Fried Steak.  I have no problem with making things unless it involves touching meat, raw meat.  I just hate the feeling of cold, bloody, un-cooked meat.  My Mom and I went to the store on Tuesday night to get the ingredients for this recipe.  We had the basics, but needed the meat and eggs.  I would have made it yesterday but I thought that my Dad was bringing home pizza. It turned out that he didn’t, oh well.  Yesterday we also had church so I couldn’t have really done it then even if I wanted to.  Today I decided to do it, and I waited as long as I could before starting it. I waited a little too long because we ended up eating at 8:45.  I made the flour mixture for the chicken and then put the oil into a pan to have it start heating up.  They cooked very fast but didn’t get done all the way so my Mom told me to just stick them in the oven until I was ready.  It worked, they cooked all they way once they were in there.  Way before I started the chicken I peeled about 15 potatoes and put them in a pot of water. The recipe called for 5 pounds so I tried to estimate and did 15 potatoes. Once the chicken got done I put the potatoes on to start boiling and the began making a cake.  I had something going on each burner so it was a little crowded up there.  We have a small apartment so theres not much space to begin with, but it worked out in the end.  I made the cake while the potatoes were going. Once the potatoes got done I told everyone it was time to eat and they all came in and as we got ready to pray for the food my Mom asked me if I was going to make the gravy. Gravy? GRAVY!!!  The pan was sitting right in front of me and I completely forgot about it. Poor little guy, I hope his feelings weren’t too badly hurt. I made the gravy and my parents and younger sister waited patiently for it.  They were very understanding which made me feel good about it taking so long.  We all sat down to eat, very late as I’ve already said, and afterwards they said that they enjoyed it a lot.   I was pretty proud of myself.  It took a while for everything to get done, but once it was we all were very happy campers.  I love baking and cooking but it sure wears a person out if you’re on your feet for three hours straight, with peeling potatoes, cooking chicken fried steak and then adding a cake to the picture makes me want to just lay down on my bed and sleep for a week.

Until next time, I hope you enjoy the food you eat.

God Bless,

~Tess Bissell

One response to “Chicken Fried Steak & Cream Cheese Mashed Potatoes

  1. Again, another great tasting experiment which I wouldn’t mind if it was repeated often. Dads of great Cooks, as I am, are so fortunate.
    Tess, also loved your commentary. Love Dad

Leave a Reply

