Iny’s Prune Cake with Buttermilk Icing


I love-making things from The Pioneer Woman Cooks cookbook.  They are always just so much fun to whip up.  When I cook southern food it makes me want to start talkin’ with an accent and say stuff like, “Hun would ya pass me some of them biscuits?” Haha.  I saw the picture for this recipe in the book and saw that it was cake and my mouth started to water.  But then I looked at what the recipe has in it. PRUNES!!!!! Do you know what Prunes are?  They are dehydrated plums!  Now why would anyone do that to a poor poor pitiful plum? Tell me!!!  I love eating plums, they are just sooooooooo good.  And when you get to the pit and try to take off all of the fruit from it it starts to taste a bit sour.  Its making my mouth water right now just thinking about it.  Mmmmhmmm.  If you haven’t eaten enough plums to know what it does to you, I advise you not to.    I had to boil the prunes until they were able to be mashed, which seemed to take forever, or maybe I was just bored, who knows 😛  Once those were finished I started on the cake batter.  I got to use allspice in this batter, which makes it smell like Christmas time.  I love allspice, it just smells so beautiful.  I put the mashed up prunes into the batter and stirred it all together and it did not look pretty let me tell ya.  It was a yellowish batter that had bits of prune throughout it, BLECK! I threw that into the oven for about 45 minutes.  This is the good part.  The icing was to die for.  It was like making carmel and it was heavenly smelling and tasting.  It kept poofing up but she said to let it do that so I did.  Before it got hard I poured it over the already done cake.  It was glorious tasting.  I wish I had licked the pot that I made it in before it got hard on me.  I did lick the spoon though and that was pure bliss.  I thought this cake would taste terrible, but it was actually really good.  I did not like finding big pieces of prune in it though.  My family seemed to really enjoy it so I think it’s a winner.

I hope you enjoyed reading  this.

Tess

2 responses to “Iny’s Prune Cake with Buttermilk Icing

  1. I hear prunes are good for pregnant women… just putting that out there.. y’know in case you wanted to make this for a pregnant sister of yours…thats all… just a hint… a nudge…:)

Leave a Reply

